Peter Bohlin

Speaker Image

Peter Bohlin is a principal of Bohlin Cywinski Jackson and has been instrumental in establishing the firm’s consistent record of design achievement. Founded in 1965, with offices in Wilkes-Barre, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, Seattle, and San Francisco, the firm’s work is known for an extraordinary aesthetic, its responsiveness to particularity of place and user, and a quiet rigor that is both intellectual and intuitive. Bohlin Cywinski Jackson’s award-winning projects span the United States and around the globe and include a wide range of architectural projects, from houses to large buildings for universities, retail stores for Apple, public institutions like Seattle City Hall, and cultural buildings such as the visitor center in Grand Teton National Park.

“. . . he makes great architecture for people. Peter moves from the log cabin to the glass box, from the initial conceptual sensibilities to the finely executed detail, from the abode to the civic center, with the same unassailable ethic. Peter Bohlin reconnects us to that sense of awe and wonder at architecture in the landscape.” So concluded James Timberlake’s presentation to the American Institute of Architects 2010 Gold Medal Award Committee, which selected Bohlin for its highest honor for an individual’s contribution to the practice and theory of architecture.

Bohlin received his Bachelor of Architecture degree from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and his Master of Architecture degree from Cranbrook Academy of Art. He received an honorary Doctorate of Arts from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 2006.  A Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, in 2010 Bohlin was awarded the Gold Medal by the American Institute of Architects, the highest honor an individual American architect can receive. He served as Chairman of the AIA Committee on Design from 1984 to 1985 and has been a guest design critic and visiting professor at a number of leading schools of architecture. He frequently serves as a juror for national, regional, and state design competitions.